The winner of the Nobel Peace Prize has been named


The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the Iranian human rights activist Nargiz Mohammadi for her fight against the oppression of women in Iran and the promotion of human rights and freedom for all.

The announcement of the laureate took place today, October 6, in Stockholm.

“She fights for women’s rights against systematic discrimination and oppression. She supports women’s struggle for the right to live a full and dignified life. This struggle throughout Iran was accompanied by persecution, imprisonment, torture and even death. She fights for freedom of expression and the right to independence, as well as against the rules that require women to stay out of the spotlight and cover their bodies. The demands for freedom expressed by the demonstrators concern not only women, but also the entire population.” – said the Nobel Committee.

Mohammadi was arrested several times in Iran for her activities, the first time in 2011. After her release, she launched a campaign against the death penalty in Iran, which led to her re-arrest in 2015. The court sentenced her to 16 years in prison.

In prison, Mohammadi began speaking out against the regime’s systematic use of torture and sexual violence against political prisoners, especially women.

According to mass media, 351 actors were nominated for the award. Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky and Russian politician Oleksiy Navalny were named among the favorites. But experts immediately emphasized that their chances of victory are small.

Last year, the peace prize was awarded to Belarusian human rights activist Oles Bilyatskyi, the Russian human rights organization “Memorial” and the Ukrainian human rights organization “Center for Civil Liberties”. Later, Bieliatskyi was sentenced by a Belarusian court to 10 years in prison.

This week, the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine, Physics, Chemistry and Literature have already been announced.

@media screen and (max-width:557px){.box-telegram{flex-direction:column;padding:20px 10px 10px 10px!important}.box-telegram__img svg{margin-left:0!important}.box-telegram__info{margin-bottom:20px}.box-telegram button{margin-bottom:20px}}

Source: The winner of the Nobel Peace Prize has been named


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:


More like this